Quicksight Remove Idle Users
AWS Resource Type:
Each Quicksight user can be a reader, an author, or an admin. Idle readers are free. Idle authors and admins incur a per-user charge each month. If a user is idle, they likely don’t need access to Quicksight anymore. The user can be removed.
Criteria for identifying the opportunity:
The opportunity is identified if:
- A user in that account is an author or admin
- The user hasn’t interacted with Quicksight (in any region) during the last 30 days
Potential savings (range in % on annual basis):
100% of the per-seat cost for each idle user.
What happens when the Fixer is executed?
The user’s resources are shared with another admin user in the same account (preserving access to those resources). The user is then deleted.
Is it possible to rollback once CloudFix implements the fixer?
CloudFix cannot roll back this fixer. If the same user wants to access Quicksight again, they should sign up through the process they originally used to gain access. They should consider doing so as a reader rather than an author or admin.
Can CloudFix implement the fix automatically once I accept the recommendation?
Does this fix require downtime?